Skip to Content

The Brian May Access to HE Learner Awards 2021-2022

The Brian May Access to HE Learner Awards 2021-2022


Nominations can now be made for the Open College Network West Midlands Brian May Access to HE Learner Awards.

Learners can be nominated by their Centre’s tutors for outstanding achievement or commitment to study.

Successful nominations will be awarded £600 to support their progression.




We are inviting nominations for learners falling within two categories:


Category 1 - The Brian May Access to HE Learner Award for Outstanding Achievement

This category is for students that have either excelled in their academic study by producing assessed work of a consistently high standard or who have vastly improved during the Access to HE course.


Category 2 - The Brian May Access to HE Learner Awards for Commitment to Study

Students in this category should have shown an outstanding commitment to study. This could be by overcoming significant barriers to study, or by having an inspirational learning journey.

Nominated students may have shown evidence of extra effort above and beyond that which would normally be required of a student.


How to nominate

Each nomination must be on a separate nomination form.

All of the nominees must be notified of their nomination and should also be informed that we may use their learning stories in our marketing publications should consent be given.

Please note that Centres may only nominate three learners per category.

Completed nomination forms are to be sent to by Thursday 10th March 2022.


Winners will be informed in April 2022 and will receive their awards at The Brian May Access to HE Learner Awards Ceremony on Tuesday 10th May 2022 at Wolverhampton Racecourse.

Each year, the AVA will choose a successful award winner to nominate for the Keith Fletcher Memorial Awards - an award for Access to HE Learners across the country.
This is an excellent opportunity to reward those students who are outstanding in their studies and committed to their future progress. We look forward to receiving your nominations.


Back to top