Skip to Content

Qualification Sizes

Qualification Sizes

There are generally three common sizes of qualifications on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF):
  • Award
  • Certificate
  • Diploma.

The size indicates the number of credits a learner must achieve to be awarded the qualification:

  • To gain an Award you need between 1 and 12 credits
  • To gain a Certificate you need between 13 and 36 credits
  • To gain a Diploma you need 37 or more credits.

If you want to find out more about the RQF, units, qualifications, credit and levels, visit the Ofqual website and navigate to ‘Qualifications and Assessments’.

Back to top